Of the many thousands of young people trying for their break into Bollywood, there are few as charming and talented as newcomer Priyam Galav. A member of the first batch to graduate from Whistling Woods International film school, Priyam has already starred in one feature film, last year’s amusing romcom LOVE EXPRESS, and has some exciting projects lined up for the future!

As the broken hearted Priyanka in Love Express, who meets her former lover Chirag (Vikas Katyal) after many years while both are travelling by train to an ill fated wedding, Priyam delighted audiences with not only her beauty, but also her dramatic range. Filmgoers are sure to be seeing more of this gal in the near future!

Want to know more about Priyam? Then just keep reading!

Scene from LOVE EXPRESS: Left to right: Priyam Galav, Sahil Mehta, Vikas Katyal.

Having just graduated with a degree in philosophy from Mithibai College, and heading out to continue her career on-screen, Priyam was kind enough to take time out to answer a few questions for Pedro(the Ape Bomb) blog.

Mike Barnum: Where were you born and where were you raised

Priyam Galav: I was born and raised in New York for the first 10 years, before moving to India. Here, I studied at Mayo College, a boarding school located in Ajmer, Rajasthan. I have lived in Mumbai ever since I passed out.

MB: Aside from acting, what are your other interests and hobbies.

PG: I love dancing…Contemporary and Indian Classical… travelling, watching movies, reading and listening to music.

Her first film Love Express gives Priyam (center) an opportunity to indulge in one of her other passions; dance.

MB: What possessed you to want to become an actress?

PG: During my childhood years in New York, Hindi films were my main connect to India. I was obsessed with watching Indian cinema. Back here [in India] I happened to attend an interview of Aamir Khan, where he was promoting and talking about his experience of working in Lagaan. Seeing Aamir’s passion, attention to detail and methodology internally changed me. As he spoke, it was an instant connect for me. That was when I knew that this is what I would love and had to do.

MB: Are your family and friends supportive of this career choice?

PG: I couldn’t have asked for a more supportive family. I would not be in Mumbai pursuing my dreams had it not been for them. My school friends too, have always supported my dream to become an actress and their positive reinforcements have always given me strength.

MB: How exciting was it to first see yourself on the big screen in Love Express?

PG: It was nerve wracking. I personally don’t enjoy seeing myself blown up on such a large screen. My excitement came with other’s getting excited seeing me on screen.

Priyam, with her leading man, the handsome Vikas Katyal, no doubt saving their seats early for the premier of their debut film LOVE EXPRESS.

MB: What did you find most surprising or challenging in making your first film?

PG: I believe that no matter how many acting classes one may ever take it does not fully prepare you mentally for your first film. There are so many emotions attached to it, excitement, anxiousness, nervousness. Love Express for me was all of that; and having to perform in spite of all that was very challenging.

MB: How was working opposite fellow newcomer Vikas Katyal?

PG: Vikas and I were from the same batch of Whistling Woods, hence we had done a lot of work together and spent a significant amount of time with each other. We were each other’s support system.

On the set of LOVE EXPRESS with costar Vikas Katyal.

MB: Who were the most fun to work with on LOVE EXPRESS?

PG: Everyone. From our director [Sunny Bhambhani] , to producer [Subhash Ghai], to the entire cast and crew. Everyone brought their own element of fun to the sets.

MB: Your role in Love Express was both dramatic and comicalWhat types of roles do you hope to play in the future.

PG: I loved Kiera Knightly’s role in Atonement. I’d kill to portray such a character. Besides that, I’m a sucker for romantic comedies and period drama.

MB: Who would be your ideal leading man?

PG: In the Indian Film Industry it would be Ranbir Kapoor. I think he is super talented. In Hollywood, I am spoilt rotten for choices. There are just too many people to choose from.

MB: Are there any yesteryear stars you are a big fan of?

PG: I’m a huge Guru Dutt fan. Besides him, I love Madhuri Dixit, Madhubala and Waheeda Rehman. In Hollywood it would have to be Audrey Hepburn and Meryl Streep.

MB: Who are your current favorites?

PG: My favourites keep changing. But presently its Ranbir Kapoor. In Hollywood its Meryl Streep all the way.

MB: Just for fun, list for me your top 10 favorite films.

PG: All in random order and subject to constant change:

Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge

Atonement

The GodFather films

Rang De Basanti

Rockstar

Love Actually

Casablanca

Blue Umbrella

Kaagaz Ke Phool

Finding Neverland

MB: Since making Love Express, do you find yourself being noticed on the street by people who saw the film?

PG: Sometimes strangers look at me as if they recognize me, but I don’t know whether it’s because of the film or because of some other reason ( LOL ).

MB: Do you have any projects coming up?

PG: I do, but everything is at a very nascent stage.

MB: What do you hope for in your career?

PG: I hope to be an actor who bridges Indian and International films. The world is becoming a smaller place, and with my back ground having lived in both worlds, I would want to be a part of this merger. For me a film of high budget is not a factor, but it has to be of great quality and content.

My thanks to Priyam for sharing a bit about herself. I hope you will all join me in wishing her the best in her career. She is truly a delightful new performer!

